Register for free to upload content and post comments

A user-driven online community and resource library for ethics teachers, scholars, and practitioners worldwide.

Workshop on responding to the LETR

Submitted by Nigel Duncan on Wed, 03/26/2014 - 07:37
Long title
Teaching Legal Ethics UK: Workshop on responding to the Legal Education and Training Review
Author(s)
Drake, Phil
Toddington, Stuart
Nicolson, Donald
Curran, Eleanor
Bright, Keren
Duncan, Nigel
Ferris, Graham
Webley, Lisa
Author(s)' contact information
l.webley@westminster.ac.uk
graham.ferris@ntu.ac.uk
n.j.duncan@city.ac.uk
Keren.Bright@open.ac.uk
e.a.curran@kent.ac.uk
p.j.drake@hud.ac.uk
s.w.toddington@hud.ac.uk
donald.nicolson@strath.ac.uk
Conference title
Teaching Legal Ethics UK: Workshop on responding to the Legal Education and Training Review
Conference location
The City Law School, London, UK
Country
United Kingdom
Year
2014
Select the option that describes the rights you hold in the attached content
I do not hold complete rights to all intellectual property in the attached content, but have permission from all people or entities who do hold rights in the attached content to post it on the Forum website and to grant the license, if any, that I have chosen below.
Select a license for the attached content
"Copy and Modify": I give permission for the work to be posted on the Forum website and for other users to download, alter, and copy, distribute, and repost the work on the web, as long as they credit the author(s) and the publication and provide relevant identifying citation information (volume, page numbers, year of publication, city of publication) for the original creation and do not use it commercially. ("Attribution-NonCommercial" Creative Commons license)
Abstract
This workshop was designed to explore different ways of responding to the recommendations of the UK Legal Education and Training Review insofar as they relate to legal values and ethics. It incorporated three major presentations:
'The Depths of Dialogue: Ethics, Interests and the Behavioural Economics of ‘Collaborative’ Lawyering' Phil Drake and Stuart Toddington;
'Teaching ethics experientially: using student diaries to foster and assess moral development' Donald Nicolson;
'Moral Philosophy and Moral Reasoning - A Suitable Basis for Legal Ethics Teaching at the Academic Stage' Eleanor Curran;
plus a panel session by four presenters entitled: 'Responding to the Ethics and Values Recommendations of the Legal Education and Training Review: What, Why and How?'
Keren Bright, Nigel Duncan, Graham Ferris and Lisa Webley.
The programme with abstracts plus the presentations (six Powerpoints and one Word document) are all attached to this post.
Feedback on this input form
It works well.
Lawyer Regulation